Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music
No En

Nicholas Burkel (cello)

Cellist Nicholas Burkel plays his first master concert out of two, with works by Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Schubert.

Bård Gundersen


  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827): 12 variations over «Judas Maccabaeus» by Handel, WoO 45
  • L. van Beethoven: 7 variations over «Bei Männern, Welch’s Liebe fühlen», WoO 46
  • L. van Beethoven: 12 variations over «Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen», Op. 66


  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809–1847): Variations Concertantes, op. 17
  • Franz Schubert (1797–1828): Introductions, theme and variations, Op. 82/2 (arr. Gregor Piatigorsky)


Together with pianist Per Lundberg, the American cellist Nicholas Burkel presents the first of two concerts as part of his Master Project. In this recital, which begins with the complete Variations for Cello and Piano from Beethoven, followed by those by Mendelssohn and Schubert, we hope to show the transformation of this form and development of the cello as a solo instrument. This evening is to be part of a larger examination of the exchange between the cello and piano within the theme and variations and sonata forms.

Published: Dec 8, 2021 — Last updated: Dec 15, 2021