Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music
No En

Spellemann Nominees for 2021

Ingfrid Breie Nyhus is nominated to TONOs Composer Award. At NMH, she is a researcher in the Department of Piano, Accompaniment, Guitar and Accordion.

Musicians affiliated with the Norwegian Academy of Music might collect as many as 18 prizes during this year's Norwegian Grammy Awards, Spellemann.

The Spellemann Awards publicised its list of nominees for 2021 on Friday, 11 February.

An informal count shows us that just over 20 current or former students and employees of the Academy are among the 108 nominated contributions. Some are nominated alone, and some are in collaboration with other musicians. As many as 18 out of 26 prizes may be given to an NMH-connected musician – this makes up approximately 69% of the prizes.

We will know the results when the award ceremony occurs on 22 April 2022.

Synnøve Brøndbo Plassen is nominated in the category Traditional Music. She's currently a graduate performance student in traditional Norwegian folk song at NMH. Photo: Thor Hauknes.

This year's nominees

  • Ole Morten Vågen – Jazz.
  • Flukten – Jazz (with NMH-alumni Hanna Paulsberg, Marius Klovning and Bárður Reinert Poulsen).
  • Juhani Silvola og Sarah-Jane Summers – Traditional Music.
  • Tabita Berglund – Classical Music.
  • Synnøve B. Plassen – Traditional Music.
  • Kanaan – Rock (with NMH-alumni Ask Vatn Strøm and Eskild Myrvoll).
  • Bernhoft – Pop.
  • Bendik HK – Electronica.
  • Hedvig Mollestad – Rock
  • Ingfrid Breie Nyhus – TONOs Composer Award.
  • Henrik Hellstenius – TONOs Composer Award.
  • Daniela Reyes – Lyricist of the Year.
  • Maja Ratkje – Contemporary.
  • Bendik Giske – Mixed category.
  • Du og jeg og vi 2-3-4 – Children's Music (with alumna Ellen Brekken)
  • Håvard Gimse – Contemporary.
  • Kjetil Møster – Contemporary.
  • Håkon Skogstad – Classical Music.