Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music
No En

Master conductors in Vilnius

The conductors of tomorrow travel to Vilnius where they will conduct the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra.

The orchestra performs Weber's ouverture from Der Freichütz and Concerto for bassoon and orchestra, and works by Monrad Johansen and Liszt.


  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786–1826): Ouverture from Der Freischütz
  • C. M. von Weber: Concerto for bassoon and orchestra
  • Franz Liszt (1811–1886): Les Préludes
  • David Monrad Johansen (1888–1974): Pan


  • Arvid Larsson (bassoon)
  • Jarl Eivind Aspen and Johan Bürgin (conductors)


The young baton masters from Norway – Jarl Eivind Aspen, pursuing a Master’s Degree in oboe and conducting at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre, and Jonas Bürgin, resident of Zurich, Switzerland, where he has formed (2015) and conducted the young soloist ensemble Junge Zürcher Harmoniker, grace the podium of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. In 2021, Jonas was awarded a scholarship by the Conductors Forum of the German Music Council and the Peter Eötvös Foundation; the young conductor made it to the final. The eight contestants will contend for the Herbert von Karajan Award.

In addition to core Romantic scores, Ferenc Liszt’s colourful poem Preludes and Carl Maria von Weber’s virtuoso Concerto for Bassoon, young talents present their country’s composer David Monrad Johansen’s Pan for symphony orchestra. In this composer's music, one can hear the echoes of the music of the compatriot romanticist Edvard Grieg and the influence of French Impressionism and Igor Stravinsky, which Johansen experienced during his internship in Paris. In the aforementioned Weber’s Concerto, the LNSO collaborates with young Swedish bassoonist Arvid Larsson, who had served as the principal bassoon in the Turku Symphony Orchestra and currently is a member of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Published: Jul 6, 2021 — Last updated: Oct 8, 2021