Skip to main content
Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music Search

Brahms + 8 Young Composers

Brahms' second symphony, side by side with eight new works by composition students at the Academy.

Marte Fillan, Gry Dahl, Jenny Berger Myhre, Sam Walton, Andrej Grilc, Maia Viken, Julie Jensen Storvik, Rebecca Jaxhagen, Benjamin A. Ward


8 new works by NMH's composition students

  • James Layton: Vertical Seconds
  • Christoffer Håård: Dyrgripar
  • Victoria Nunes Finstad: Brytning
  • Olivia Køppe Christoffersen: TOI-178
  • Urban Megušar: Transversal 343
  • Ferdinand Schwarz: Saturations for Orchestra
  • Jon Martin Heitmann Vinje: To stykker om skam
  • Vilde Aakre Lie: Sempre


Johannes Brahms (1833–1897): Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73

  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Adagio non troppo
  3. Allegretto grazioso, quasi andantino
  4. Allegro con spirito


  • Ingar Bergby (conductor
  • The Academy's Symphony Orchestra


The Norwegian Academy of Music 50 years old -

Welcome to The Norwegian Academy of Music's 50th anniversary celebration, with concerts and events throughout the whole academic year of 2023–2024.

See the complete anniversary programme

More Concerts

Published: Jun 25, 2023 — Last updated: Dec 7, 2023