Skip to main content
Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music Search

Gradient Ensemble

The music of Ferdinand Schwarz explores issues of time and perception.

The concentrated world he presents with his large ensemble guides us through an almost trance-inducing process where we become vulnerable receptors, where the given is magnified, enabling us to find new perspectives within the seemingly simple and known.

Experiencing this music becomes a uniquely satisfying exercise in self-exploration without any predetermined goal, progressively revealing deep emotive and personal dimensions.


  • Lina Knörr (voice, flute)
  • Vera Sonne, Andrea Giordano, Hanne Marit Mordal Iversen, Marco Slaviero and Noel Rubli (voice)
  • Eivind Holmboe Leifsen (saxophone, voice)
  • Elizabeth Kate and Elias Nurmi Schomers (cello, voice)
  • James Layton (viola, voice)
  • Ferdinand Schwarz (trumpet, voice, compositions)
  • Ane Elise Lassen (bass, voice)

More Concerts

Published: Jan 12, 2023 — Last updated: Apr 24, 2023