Skip to main content
Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music Search

Wolfgang Kogert (organ)

The Austrian organist Wolfgang Kogert plays a lunch concert.

Lukas Beck


  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750): Preludium and Fugue in B minor, BWV 544
  • Jean-Pierre Leguay (1939–): Sonata I, 1st and 2nd mvt.


Dramatic, full of rhetoric gestures as well as formally carefully planned are both compositions of the concert: Bach's late Preludium and Fugue in B minor, as well as Jean-Pierre Leguay's Sonata I. Both suit the time of lent.

Bach's Preludium is written in ritornello form, the large Fugue combines a vocal-like theme with three agile counterpoints. The large diptyque has maybe been written for opening and closing a funeral ceremony for princess Eberhardine 1727 in Leipzig.

Jean-Pierre Leguay was organiste-titulaire in Notre-Dame de Paris for many years. The first movement of his Sonata I combines contrasting textures connected through a characteristic "call". The second movement is constantly increasing in its intensity.

Wolfgang Kogert (1980–) is teaching the organ at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg and is an organist at the Hofburgkapelle in Vienna.

Published: Dec 20, 2022 — Last updated: Jan 30, 2023