Skip to main content
Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music Search

Sunniva Rødland: Let The Harp Sound

Updating the understanding of the sound and artistic role of the harp in Norwegian contemporary music.

Field of study: Artistic Research (Harp)



In this project, Rødland aims to broaden the position of the harp as an instrument in contemporary music. Through multiple performances of modern repertoire, composer collaborations, and new works specifically commissioned for the project, Rødland seeks to challenge pre-supposed ideas of the harp, thereby encouraging a new look at the instrument. As a result, Let the Harp Sound! reflects upon the musician's role in composer-musician collaborations. The project also involves explorations of the concert format, the use of electronics, multimedia concerts, interdisciplinary performances, and improvisation.


The artistic result of Let the Harp Sound! consists of over 40 performances by Rødland throughout the project period. These performances include nine world premieres and collaborations with ensembles such as the Norwegian Wind Ensemble, Ensemble Ernst, and Nidaros Girls Choir.


Full title: Let the Harp Sound! Updating the understanding of the sound and artistic role of the harp in Norwegian contemporary music.

The Artistic Result

The main results of the project are presented on (a) a final concert in "Kulturkirken Jakob" in 2023, and (b) two recordings.

Written documentation

The critical reflection, containing Rødland's own reflections on the processes, performances and composer collaborations, is published with an appendix of Rødland's conversations with the harpists Judy Loman, Godelieve Schrama, Elisabeth Sønstevold and Willy Postma, about their experiences and views on playing contemporary music and working with composers.

The critical reflection is available from NMH's digital archive Brage.

Rødland's reference lists include 170 compositions and 90 published recordings of modern/contemporary music for harp.

Articles relevant

Published: Aug 12, 2015 — Last updated: Mar 31, 2024