Skip to main content
Norges musikkhøgskole Norwegian Academy of Music Search

Brahms in the chamber

Students and staff at the Norwegian Academy of Music explore the artistic and pedagogical aspects of performing a chamber music version of Brahms' 4th symphony.

The project consists of three main tasks:

  1. Transcribing the piece for 4 string instruments, 4 woodwind instruments and piano. By Sigstein Folgerø.
  2. Interpretation. With staff and students
  3. Performing - in cooperation with Chamber music week 2014 and NMH concert production department.



  • Sigstein Folgerø, piano
  • Bjarne Magnus Jensen, violin
  • Julius Pranevicius, horn


  • Einar Kyvik Bauge, viola
  • Christine Oseland, viola
  • Mathias Sunde Valseth, double bass
  • Eskild Abelseth, double bass
  • Marit Charlotte Steinum, flute
  • Christine Bårreng Hansen, clarinet
  • Ida Kateraas, clarinet
  • Joakim Raivio, bassoon

Published: Sep 24, 2014 — Last updated: Jan 11, 2021